About Us

 

Background

Located at the northern part of Tin Shui Wai, New Territories, Hong Kong, the site of Hong Kong Wetland Park was originally intended to be an ecological mitigation area (EMA) to compensate for the wetlands lost due to Tin Shui Wai New Town development.

  • ● 1998

    the Agriculture and Fisheries Department (now renamed as Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department, AFCD) and the Hong Kong Tourists Association (now renamed as Hong Kong Tourism Board, HKTB) commissioned an "International Wetland Park and Visitor Centre Feasibility Study" on expanding the EMA to a world-class wetland ecotourism attraction. The study concluded that it was feasible to develop a Wetland Park at the EMA without compromising its intended ecological mitigation functions. The development of the Wetland Park will also enhance the ecological function of the EMA to a world-class conservation, education and tourism facility.

  • ● 2006

    The Wetland Park was opened to the public on 20 May 2006.The Wetland Park project has then been designated by the Administration as one of the Millennium projects.

    The 61-hectare Hong Kong Wetland Park demonstrates the diversity of the Hong Kong's wetland ecosystem and highlights the need to conserve them. It presents an opportunity to provide an education and recreation venue with a theme on the functions and values of wetlands for use by local residents and overseas visitors.

Background
Mission and Objective

Mission and Objective

The mission of the Hong Kong Wetland Park is to foster public awareness, knowledge and understanding of the inherent values of wetlands throughout the East Asian region and beyond, and to marshal public support and action for wetland conservation. The Hong Kong Wetland Park will also be a world-class ecotourism facility to serve both local residents and overseas tourists.

icon

To provide a facility that will both complement and supplement those offered at the Mai Po Marshes Nature Reserve

icon

To serve the recreational needs of local residents

icon

To demonstrate the diversity of Hong Kong's wetland ecosystem and highlight the need to conserve them

icon

To provide opportunities for education and public awareness

icon

To create a visitor attraction of international status, catering both for the general public and visitors, and also for those with special interest in wildlife and ecology

icon

To provide an attraction which will diversify visitor experience in Hong Kong for overseas visitors

Overview

The Hong Kong Wetland Park comprises a 10,000m2 visitor centre and a 60-hectare Wetland Reserve. The Visitor Centre has themed exhibition galleries, theatre, souvenir shop and indoor play area. The themed exhibition galleries showcase the importance of wetland on biodiversity, civilisation and conservation.

The Wetland Reserve is constructed wetlands of habitats specially designed for waterbirds. The Wetland Discovery Centre located in the Wetland Reserve allows visitors to encounter a vast diversity of wetland creatures. Other facilities including Stream Walk, Succession Walk, Mangrove Boardwalk and three Bird Hides lead visitors to venture in different habitats.

Hong Kong Wetland Park has received various local and international awards on architecture and landscape design granted by professional organizations including the Hong Kong Institute of Architects, Institute of Landscape Architects of the United Kingdom, and the Urban Land Use Institute of USA. In 2013, the Park was voted by members of the general public of Hong Kong as one of the Ten Hong Kong People Engineering Wonders in the 21st Century.

Awards

In 2018, the Hong Kong Wetland Park attracted about 460,000 visitors, including around 39,000 overseas tourists. During the year, the Park provided about 4,000 guided tours for more than 66,500 visitors. In addition, the Park organised 57 educational talks attracting about 2,900 participants.

icon

460,000 visitors
icon

over 39,000 overseas tourists
icon

4,000 guided tours
icon 

57 educational talks

In view of providing an enjoyable journey to visitors, the management team of the Hong Kong Wetland Park is divided into six sections with specialized duties and published visitors codes in the hope of providing excellent customer service to the public. The following chart summarizes the key organization structure of the Park.

Organisation Chart

Overview

 

Back To Top

關於我們

 

背景

香港濕地公園位於天水圍北部,其所處的土地原本擬用作生態緩解區,以彌償因天水圍的都市發展而失去的濕地。

  • ● 1988年

    前漁農署(現更名為漁農自然護理署)及前香港旅遊協會(現更名為香港旅遊發展局)展開了一項有關把該生態緩解區擴展成為一個濕地生態旅遊景點的可行性研究,名為「國際濕地公園及訪客中心」。研究的結論是可在該生態緩解區發展一個濕地公園,而不削弱其生態緩解功能。香港濕地公園的發展更可將該生態緩解區提昇成一個集自然護理、教育及旅遊用途於一身的世界級景點。

  • ● 2006年

    香港濕地公園於二零零六年五月二十日正式開幕。為香港特區政府其中一個千禧年發展項目。

    佔地約六十一公頃的香港濕地公園展示了香港濕地生態系統的多樣化及突顯保護它們的重要性。此外,並提供機會闢設以濕地功能及價值為主題的教育及消閒場地,供本地居民及海外遊客使用。

背景
使命及目標

使命及目標

香港濕地公園的使命是加強市民對東亞濕地及其他地區濕地的認識和了解,並爭取市民支持和參與濕地護理工作,同時為香港市民及海外遊客提供一個世界級的生態景點。我們帶以下六項目標:

icon

提供可與米埔沼澤自然護理區相輔相成的設施

icon

切合本港居民的康樂活動需求

icon

展示香港濕地生態系統的多樣性,並強調必須予以保護

icon

提供教育機會和加強市民對濕地生態系統的認識

icon

建設一個國際級的旅遊景點,服務市民、遊客、及對野生生物和生態學有專門興趣的人士

icon

提供一個有別於一般觀光地方的景點,以擴闊外國遊客在香港的旅遊體驗

簡介

香港濕地公園擁有佔地1萬平方米的室內訪客中心和60公頃的濕地保護區。訪客中心設有主題展覽廊、放映室、禮品店、餐廳及室內遊戲區。展覽廊展示濕地在生物多樣性、文明發展和自然保育的重要性。

濕地保護區包括人造濕地和為水鳥而重建的生境。座落保護區的濕地探索中心讓遊客親身體驗濕地生趣。其他設施包括溪畔漫遊徑、演替之路、紅樹林浮橋和三間觀鳥屋則引領遊客走進不同的生境。

香港濕地公園的建築及園景設計享譽國際,榮獲本地及海外專業團體所頒發的多項大奬,包括香港建築師學會、英國園境師學會及美國城市土地學會。於2013年,公園更被全港市民選為21世紀香港十大傑出工程項目之一。

獲頒獎項

在2018年,香港濕地公園錄得約46萬的入場人次,包括約39,000名海外遊客。年內,公園為超過66,500名訪客提供了近4,000次導賞活動。另外,公園舉辦了57次教育講座,吸引約2,900人參加。

icon

46萬入場人次
icon

超過39,000名海外遊客
icon

提供近4,000次導賞活動
icon

舉辦57次教育講座

為了確保遊客在香港濕地公園能享受一段愉快的旅程,公園管理分成六個不同的組別以執行各自專門的職責,為大眾提供優質的顧客服務。請參閱架構圖了解相關資料。

架構圖

簡介

 

回到頁首